Disaster assistance following severe storms and floods in NSW

Aug 12, 2020 | Media Releases 2020

Nationals Senator for New South Wales Perin Davey has welcomed Federal Government disaster assistance funding for areas in the state affected by severe storms and floods.

Funding is now available in the areas of Bega, Yass, Eurobodalla, Kiama, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Orange, Goulburn, Mulwaree, Snowy Monaro, Sutherland, Upper Lachlan and Wollongong.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Senator Davey said the Nationals in Government are committed to ensuring the region’s recovery is effective.

“Severe weather has caused significant damage to roads, businesses and residential properties, with many councils now undertaking clean-up work and repairs to infrastructure,” Senator Davey said.

“We’re prepared to do what it takes to further assist the NSW Government to support councils in their response to the devastating storms and floods impacting individuals and communities across the region.”

New South Wales Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott said the SES received more than 1,500 Requests for Assistance, including flood rescues.

“Communities experienced significant losses and disruption due to damaging winds and flooding,” Minister Elliott said.

“The assistance being announced today will help cover the costs associated with the operational response and repairing damaged essential public assets, such as roads.”

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
  • support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations
  • freight subsidies for primary producers, and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan or grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the NSW emergency information and response website at www.emergency.nsw.gov.au