Taskforce commences consultation on regional bank branch closures

Nov 18, 2021 | Media Releases 2021

The Morrison Government is seeking to maintain banking services where bank branches have closed in the regions through the Regional Banking Taskforce.

Regional Banking Taskforce co-chairs – The Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Housing and Minister for Homelessness Social and Community Housing, the Hon. Michael Sukkar, and Senator Perin Davey – today announced the start of public consultation by the Taskforce.

Australians can contribute their insights into regional bank branch closures by making submissions to the Taskforce over the coming weeks and are encouraged to do so.

Insights from the submissions will help the Taskforce better understand the impacts of branch closures and how Australians are accessing banking services. They will also help improve banking services and accessibility where branches have closed. 

These submissions will build on the discussions held between senior representatives of banks and other key stakeholders at the Taskforce’s first meeting on 9 November in Sydney.

The Taskforce will continue exploring potential solutions for maintaining and improving banking services and accessibility with meetings scheduled for December 2021 and January 2022.

More information about the Taskforce is available here and the issues paper is available here.

Submissions are invited by email to regionalbanking@treasury.gov.au or by mail to: Secretariat, Regional Banking Taskforce, Financial System Division, The Treasury, Langton Crescent, Parkes ACT 2600.

The consultation process will open for four weeks with submissions closing 18 December 2021.

The Regional Banking Taskforce and the Liberal-National Government’s ongoing support for rural and regional communities is part of our economic plan to support the recovery and keep Australians together.