Australian Government Assistance for NSW storms and floods

Mar 22, 2021 | Media Releases 2021

Nationals Senator for New South Wales Perin Davey as welcomed financial assistance announced by the Federal Government, which will support people in the NSW Hunter Region and surrounding areas who have been affected by the recent storms and flooding.

Support is now available in the local government areas of Cessnock City, Maitland City and Newcastle, as well as Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Dungog, Hawkesbury, Kempsey, Lake Macquarie, Armidale, Bellingen, Central Coast, Mid-Coast, Nambucca Valley, Port MacquarieHastings, Penrith, Port Stephens and Tenterfield.

Senator Davey said it has been devastating to see the loss of homes around the state.

“This assistance will ensure support is available for those who have suffered a significant loss, including a severely damaged or destroyed home and serious injury,” Senator Davey said.

“The Australian Government is monitoring the situation closely and stands ready to provide additional assistance as required.”

“This one off payment is a non-means tested payment of $1,000 for eligible adults and $400 for eligible children.”

Services Australia Disaster Assistance phone lines are open now. The fastest and easiest way to claim disaster assistance is over the phone by calling 180 22 66. Phone lines are open from 8am to
8pm local time, seven days a week.

The Australian Government will also lift mutual obligation requirements for job seekers in the Local Government Areas impacted by the NSW floods and storms from Friday 19 March until
Tuesday 6 April 2021.

No job seeker in the affected areas will face payment suspension or financial penalties for failing to meet their mutual obligation requirements such as not being able to attend appointments or

For more information on support available, visit

More information on Australian Government disaster assistance is available at